Chocolate Medication and Birthday Back To School.

Chocolate is amazing.

Everyone knows this. Every chubby cheeked child who ever had a chocolate smeared face, every teenager who refused to give up trick or treating, every adult who has tried the ultimate heart break remedy of dark comedies and dark chocolate.

Chocolate is beautiful,delicious,and classic.

But is chocolate ever healthy?

I know you see news reports about newly discovered benefits of chocolate. They ramble out a little science as the screen flashes from Hershey’s Kisses to M&Ms, shows images of mass production Butterfingers and stock piled KitKat Bars.

Chocolate may be good for us but vanillin, red 40, hydrogenated palm kernel oil, and polyglycerol polyricinoleate are not. I don’t even know that that last one is. I don’t think anyone really does except,perhaps, the makers of KitKat Bars.

So is the chocolate that the news shows us healthy? Of course not. But I’m pretty sure I’ve found the solution to the chocolate lovers dilemma.

Chocolate Medication.

I call this delicious little recipe Chocolate Medication because of it’s three main ingredients.

  • Raw Coconut Oil – improves hair and skin health and supports digestion and metabolism.
  • Organic Cocoa – lowers blood pressure, improves blood vessel health, brain health and cholesterol levels as well as being rich in antioxidants.
  • Raw Honey – raises levels of antioxidants, promote better blood sugar, protects against bacteria, and fights high cholesterol.

That’s it! A little dash of salt and you have a delicious healthy chocolaty dream come true!

I eat this mostly for the coconut oil because my normal diet is rather low in fat. I’ve only just started but have already found my system has *ahem* “regulated”, my skin and hair have gotten softer, and my nails are stronger then before. I have one serving each morning with some dairy and protein such as yogurt or cottage cheese with fruit.

Chocolate Medication

  • 1 tbsp raw coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp organic cocoa
  • 1 tsp raw honey
  • a dash of salt

Directions

Combine ingredients and stir until smooth. Place it in the freezer for a few minutes and the texture will change from fudgey frosting to a smooth, melt-in-your-mouth chocolate bar.

This also works well when you want molding chocolate. I used this recipe for my uncle Tom’s birthday present. He’s a teacher so I made a little apple out of two heart molds. This would make a great back to school present too! I wrote out the description for him,

“Cinnamon Coconut Butter Apple with Salted Dark Chocolate Base on top of a Salted Pecan Brown Rice Crisp with Marshmallow Nametag.”

Everything sounds better when you say it with fancy words. And you know what?

He won’t even know that it’s the healthiest chocolate he ever ate.

Loaves and Kisses,

Maddie

About loavesandkisses

I'm 16 and have been into cooking healthy for about two years. I love baking and a dessert without chocolate has to be pretty bloody tasty for me to like it! Right now my passion is trying out new recipes and cooking styles as a sort of self-teaching experience. I like to try out new cooking styles by sticking to that style for a week. So far it's just been a week of vegan and a week of raw. I'm hoping to try gluten free next. This blog will be about foods I make, recipes I try, restaurants I go to and (although this last sentence sounds painfully self centered) generally about me and this new world of food I just so happened to stumble into. I hope you like it. ~LoavesAndKisses
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

